Bone Lake Meadows Apiary Blog

making the planet a better place one hive at a time.

ribbons n street cred September 1, 2010

Filed under: markets and events,summertime happenings,team awesome — queen frederica @ 1:43 am

Being the ambitious newbee I am, entering my honey in the fair sounded like a great idea. Extracting honey is always fun but it was even more fun the night we a went into my hive to get a super (box of honey) for the fair.  You have an idea of what kind of honey you will be getting from each hive and super but it’s not really official until you start uncapping..

dorking out.

Expecting a lighter spring honey, I  opened the spigot and watched a beautiful amber colored goodness flow out. This definitely wasn’t the clover our pallets are all so used to here in Minnesota- and it Rocked.My.World. I should expect nothing less from Queen Frederica and all her badassary out there in the most beautiful meadow…

5th place white honey, novice class

I didn’t realize the amount of work that went into entering honey at the fair. I used every piece of advice received: getting the correct jars, only using fully capped frames of honey, waiting a week to bottle, skimming the bubbles off the bottled honey, et cetera. However, I am proud to say that I did not heat my honey. Heating honey (for the fair) is recommended because it makes for a clearer, cleaner honey that doesn’t run the risk of crystalizing if temperatures drop. Yes, it looks prettier heated but also changes the flavor. Can’t say I’ve ever been one to conform so I’m not planning on starting now..not for the sake of a ribbon!

5th place light amber honey, Open class

People stop by the table at markets and ask me if the honey is good. Duh, obviously it’s fantastic! Or at least that’s what the judges said about the honey I entered at the state fair this year. Maybe now I will start saying that instead of the smartypants comments that are usually sent out…then again, maybe not..

Summer really has been a blast and this is another thing to remember it by. Thanks Mike for putting up with all my nit picky crap building up to this.. and my apologies in advance for next year ;)

 

One Response to “ribbons n street cred”

  1. Aidan Says:

    Kelsey Bee is teh honey queen


Leave a Reply

