Bone Lake Meadows Apiary Blog

making the planet a better place one hive at a time.

recent urban bee food September 15, 2010

Filed under: food sources — queen frederica @ 11:42 am

When I’m not doing the usual ‘bee stuff’ I work for a wonderful private gardening company. We go all over the metro area and take care of beautiful gardens… but a beautiful garden to me isn’t necessarily beautiful to most. I’m more of the ”if I can’t eat it or use it, I probably don’t want it” and the same rule applies for bees! Don’t get me wrong – I love flowers, but I love them more when it means a squash is on the way.

Our bees are out in rural areas and have plenty of  healthy food to pick from all summer long. It’s great that St. Paul and Minneapolis now allow hives in the city but I’ve always wondered what the buffet looks like for bees, as most urban gardens are chemically treated or of little value to bees. With my gardening job, I’ve been paying attention all summer to find out where the bees are going. There is always a little something out there and this is what I’ve been seeing in the past couple weeks:

Sedum

Turtlehead

Russian Sage

I do not know just how nutritious these are for bees but the amount of bees I see on them tells me it must be good. These are all perennials, take little to no maintenance and are all pretty. So, whether you are a gardener or not, it’s a great way to add color to your yard and help the bee population. And if I haven’t convinced you to plant these yet: perennials are dirt cheap right now at any home and garden store. (that was not a pun)

Happy Fall!

 

2 Responses to “recent urban bee food”

  1. Lorna Says:

    Kelsey,
    Is there somewhere I can recommend you for a blogging award? I think you do a great job! Very attractive site, too.

  2. Thanks, Lorna! Definitely makes it more fun to blog when you know others are enjoying it : )


Leave a Reply

