Bone Lake Meadows Apiary Blog

making the planet a better place one hive at a time.

organic. April 20, 2011

Filed under: food sources — queen frederica @ 9:45 pm

My mother and I were recently in Texas for business meetings.. hers being with fellow educators and mine being poolside with the intense, southern sun.

I may or may not have messed with Texas..

By day we accomplished a lot in our respective meetings. For example, I am a new shade of red. [Apparently that 4 month Hawaiian base ‘tan’ of mine faded after a few weeks under layers of winter clothing..] After  long, hard days of work we enjoyed dinners with great food and company. I really enjoyed meeting these folks and hearing their ideas amd perspective on things.

One of the things we talked about was bees and food – I know, imagine that. People always ask what the deal is with the bees and my answer is always something along the lines of: people are greedy and it shows in our food industry, which bees have a major impact on. As a result of this, I am now wondering what organic means to people.

Organic. What does ot mean to you? Wait, before We begin this whole deal I will consult my ever so reliable friend, Merriam-Webster, to clear up any confusion.

Organic. or·gan·ic [ôr-gnk]

a: archaic

b:  of, relating to, or derived from living organisms <organic evolution>;
of, relating to, yielding, or involving the use of food produced with the use of feed or fertilizer of plant or animal origin without employment of chemically formulated fertilizers, growth stimulants, antibiotics, or pesticides

c: forming an integral element of a whole : fundamental

d: having properties associated with living organisms; Resembling a living organism in organization or development; interconnected

I guess I get so jazzed over this topic of organic because it has been bastardized by Corporate America. It is now a current craze and you can even find a large variety of “organic” products at large chain stores that will remain nameless in my blog.

I don’t mind if great things are exposed to people in ridiculous waves as long as it’s beneficial, but when the core reason or belief is totally bypassed it really changes things. It’s almost like the meaning or representation of organic or natural things are propaganda now. The meaning appears to have evolved into a new thing.

When I buy/grow/use organic, it’s because I am looking for something wholesome for both me and the earth. Organics have the potential to change the world in ways a lot of people don’t think or really care about. I could go on about it for quite some time but I am truly curious what it means to people. Feel free to comment or email with your answers.

What does it mean to you?

organic is not just for dirty hippies!

 

One Response to “organic.”

  1. Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you could do with some pics to drive the message home a bit, but other than that, this is overwhelming blog. An perfect read. I’ll surely be back.


Leave a Reply

